Women’s Bar Foundation 2013 Annual Report

:: Download latest report ::



The Women’s Bar Foundation was established in 1966 for the purpose of providing “scholarships, awards or other financial aid for the study of law in accredited law schools in the State of Illinois to deserving and qualified women.” The Foundation was incorporated in 1968 as an Illinois not-for-profit corporation and has been granted exemption from Federal income taxes under section 501 (c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

The first scholarship was awarded in 1966 in the name of Judge Mary Bartelme in the amount of $300. Since that time, the Foundation has awarded over 280 scholarships totaling over $1.1 million. In 2003, the Foundation established and awarded a permanent annual scholarship in the name of Esther Rothstein, a founding member of the Foundation and its president for almost 21 years. In 2002, the Foundation instituted an annual public interest scholarship and in 2004, the Foundation established a permanent annual scholarship in the name of Justice Mary Ann G. McMorrow, a long-time supporter of the Foundation and the first woman Chief Justice of the Illinois Supreme Court.

The funds for Foundation scholarships are raised through individual donations, endowments, bequests, and Foundation events. Through the years, scholarships have been provided by donations from former scholarship winners and by donations from other supporters. The foundation honors distinguished members and donors by awarding scholarships in their names. To ensure the viability of the Foundation, supporters are encouraged to consider including the Women’s Bar Foundation in their estate plans.